top of page

Zach Said Interview

Computer programming graduate and self-confessed techno nerd Zach Said has been making waves since breaking onto the music scene two years ago. He has racked up 2 million streams on Spotify and supported the likes of Kodaline and Anderson .Paak as well as being playlisted on BBC Radio 1 and regularly featured on Spotify's New Music Friday. We caught up with him to find out all about his latest single...


Hi Zach, thanks for having a chat with us! You’re set to release your latest single, ‘Nothing Feels The Same’, on the 25th of October, can you tell us more about it?


No worries! Thanks for reaching out! Of course! So, this track is the first single I've released that is produced by myself! So I'm super excited for people to hear it. Mixed by the legend that is Jonas Persson also. He puts the extra touches on it to make it sound like a record.


As a lyrics-based blog we were wondering if you could tell us more about the meaning or inspiration behind the lyrics to the single?


'Nothing Feels the Same' talks about the little things that can sometimes put pressure on a relationship. The chorus is a conversation between the couple. He said this, she said that. No-one is wrong, but that's the thing with relationships, there is not right answer. Just different sides to one story.


If any, which song do you wish you’d written the lyrics for? Ooooo. Great question. J Cole’s lyrics are incredible but I'm gonna have to go with ‘To Build A Home’ by Cinematic Orchestra. The imagery that those lyrics paint is just wow. The underlying story is beautiful but can be interpreted in so many different ways. What the song may mean to me may mean something completely different to someone else. I think that's what music is missing out on these days. Everyone is so literal.  What has the response to your last release, ‘Gyb2’, been like? Been great! It's a bit different to what I've done before but I just wanted to throw it out there and see what people think. I ain't famous like Kayne West so I can release what I like without people saying they like the old stuff better haha! Which, out of all of your released material, would you say is your favourite track lyrically? I'd say ‘Craving’. It's cheeky and honest. I think honesty is key in music. That's what hits the hardest. People can feel what you felt. Also the track is sexy as fook!



Can you tell us more about what you’re up to at the moment?

I'm doing a lot of production and writing at home nowadays! Have been absolutely loving the space to create what I want and experiment with some new sound and writing techniques. Have also been gigging a lot! Supporting Mic Lowry at O2 Islington and got a support tour coming up with Deaf Havana! Can't wait! You’ve had a busy year, what would you say has been a personal highlight?

Ooooo personal highlight. Getting New Music Friday from Spotify two times in a row was pretty dope! But saying that I think my personal highlight was probably just after recording the first verse and chorus of this upcoming single. I hadn't written anything by myself for a long time before then and it re-sparked the energy I had when I first picked up my guitar. Since then I havent stopped writing and I've been the happiest I've been for a while.  Have you got any plans you can let us in on for next year? An album. Definitely an album. With loads of production from me. And sick collab features on it. I mean seriously sick collabs. Big tings a comin!




 

186 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page