top of page

A Chat With... Ruby Hilton

We chat to singer and actress Ruby Hilton who is currently training in performing arts. She has sang at a range of events and starred in many shows at the world renowned Stephen Joseph Theatre. She’s on the road to big things and we got to catch up with her back in August...


First of all, what made you want to go into music?


When I was ten years old and  I was in Year Six we went to see Matilda The Musical, and honestly, it was the most amazing thing I’d ever seen. It really mesmerised me and it just caught my imagination, I remember realising that I wanted to do that, and I just never looked back since then!


What do you look for in a song?


Generally, I look for something that isn’t in the charts, so artists that are more under appreciated than some others, you can often find really good songs by them. I’m always looking for bops and bangers, as they always come through for us. And lastly, I just stay open minded and look at as many different song types as possible, you should always stay open minded!


Favourite songs at the moment?


Ok, so for sure ‘I’ll be here’ from Ordinary Days, it’s literally so good. Also 'Late Night Feelings' by Mark Ronson is an absolute bop (I must agree). And finally, 'Belly' by Rex Orange County, that’s such a bop. I definitely recommend that you listen to these!



Why do you sing?


I definitely sing to escape the real world, like for just a moment you can step away from reality. Also, I love that by singing about other people’s issues in their songs, you can kind of escape your own for just a few minutes, it means that you can swap characters in just a second. I just love that feeling of becoming someone else when I sing, that’s literally such a buzz.


What’s the best thing about musical theatre? 


I mean, I’ve loved theatre forever, or as long as I can remember. I can’t really imagine life without it and I can’t imagine anything other than performing immersed in a character and just absolutely loving it so much. That’s probably one of the best feelings in the world.


Your favourite artist at the moment?


It has to be Rex Orange County, he has some absolute bangers that you can’t help but fall in love with! I just love the music he produces; musical producers definitely don’t get enough appreciation for what they do, especially when they produce some complete bops!



At the end of the day, what’s the big dream?


There are two branches that I will always want to do down. The first being musical theatre and going to The West End and Broadway and performing in some of the worlds biggest musicals. Then the other one is becoming a recording artist and writing/producing my own music. I’d love to find and develop my own style of music and find that category that I really fit into and love. 


What advice would you give to any of those kids like you who want to go into music?


Practice practice practice! Honestly, practice makes perfect! And quite simply you can’t get good if you don’t practice something. Also, find your own personality through the music, it sounds weird but you really have to be your own person and find that place in music which you love more than anything else!


Interview by Ben Robinson

166 views1 comment
bottom of page